a place of abundance

"we went through fire and through water, yet You brought us out into a place of abundance" Psalm 66:12b

Two Years!! October 4, 2011

Filed under: cancer,post cancer — vivmabuni @ 2:38 pm

October. It’s no longer about black and orange and Trick-or-Treating. If you look around the “in” color of the month is PINK. I  have a new Hermes (oo la la) pink scarf that someone gave my mom that she passed on to me. I’ve been sporting it in honor of Breast Cancer awareness month. (see photo) This month two years ago marks the milestone when I finished active treatment (surgeries, chemo and radiation treatments). I found out this morning at my every-four-months-for-three-years follow-up appointment with my oncologist that the two-year mark is even more signficant than the five-year mark for cancer survivors. The highest reports of recurrence happens within the first two years, so that I am still NED (no evidence of disease) is cause for celebration!!! I am continuing to grow in confidence in this survivorship stage, but with a sober approach to the preciousness of life.

When news that our beloved Max died this summer, I couldn’t help but think when I saw my kids grieving what it would be like if it had been me instead of our dog. Two words that describe how I am: sober and grateful. This new season has me saying “yes” to invitations to speak at a fall retreat, on a radio program, staff conference, and at a church in the next two months. The theme that keeps tossing around my mind is: Life and Death. Would appreciate your continued prayers for health and that the words I speak (and write) would continue to point people to God.

 

 

18 Responses to “Two Years!!”

  1. karynd Says:

    It is indeed a cause for celebration!! Yippee!!

  2. Elaine Wong Says:

    My Dear Sweet Viv,

    I am so blessed to have you in my life. You are strong, encouraging and beautiful (inside and out)! Thank you so much for allowing us to share in your life!

    Love,

    -Elaine Wong

  3. Wendy Menig Says:

    Congratulations Viv! I continued to be blessed by your words and your life. I am celebrating with you!

    • vivmabuni Says:

      Thanks, Wendy, for your friendship and for praying and walking w/ me through this time. Hope to see you at the staff conference to give you a hug in person.

  4. Bessie Says:

    My dear Viv, thank you so much for sharing your survivorship journey with us. You have been such an encouragement to so many of us! I couldn’t think of a better time (October) to donate my hair in honor of Breast Cancer Awareness Month.

    Love, Bess

    • vivmabuni Says:

      Bessie, I love the fact that you have devoted your life to helping people in their greatest time of need in the ER. My highest respect for those who serve in the medical field like you. I think it’s wonderful that you donated your hair this month! Love the new look! Sending hugs to your side of the country… Love you!

  5. Grace Turkis Says:

    Yay, indeed! I thought of you the other day as I read an article about companies that give proceeds to breast cancer awareness this month. Am SO thankful you are well again! Love, Grace

  6. Junko Johnson Says:

    Congratulations Vivian!! I am so blessed having a friend like you! Thank you so much for sharing your life story. You have been the HUGE encouragement to many people, including me. Hope to see you sooooo-on. Hugs, Junko

    • vivmabuni Says:

      Junko, thanks so much for reading and commenting and for your prayers, encouragement and friendship. Everyday is a gift. Look forward to seeing you tonight 🙂

  7. Margaret Yu Says:

    Viv, It is a huge reason to celebrate. I tear up thinking about what my life would mean without you.
    Glad that I do not have to think about that and I am trusting that the Lord will continue to heal and restore your body. You are so such a blessings to me and so many. Will continue to pray for many open doors for you. Very exciting and we cannot keep up with you, girlfriend! God is good in using you in so many ways.

    Woohoo….for you and your life!
    love ya,
    Marg

    • vivmabuni Says:

      Margaret, you have been a friend through thick and thin and I treasure our friendship and all our memories. Love celebrating with you and expectant for more and more reasons to celebrate! Love you and love partnering with you in ministry and life.

  8. Helen Says:

    So glad to have met you at Synergy and to “virtually” celebrate this milestone with you! So excited to see how God will use you and your story to encourage and teach others more about his work in and through you! And I love how that scarp looks on you! =) Blessings to you, my fellow Bud!

    • vivmabuni Says:

      Thanks, Helen! You have been an answer to prayer in so many different ways. I look forward to seeing you in May! Thank you for your encouragement, help and belief that this book thing can actually happen for real. What an honor to be counted among the Buds! 🙂

  9. Tracie Says:

    OMG Viv I was thinking about you today when I heard some dude on TV talk about “birthdays”. It’s a celebration of being cancer free then I read your blog. Wow nothing is ever a coincidence is it? Thanks for sharing. I am really sorry to hear about max and will be praying for the speaking engagement.s Grateful for your friendship.

    • vivmabuni Says:

      How fun, Tracie! Yup, no coincidences! 🙂 Appreciate you and for your prayers and friendship. Thankful to know that our paths will keep crossing and recrossing. Love you!


Leave a Reply

